Review List Search View Cart
-03 Feb 2011 15:53:05
Zenki Saga Part 4
-10 Jun 2010 00:38:57
Rizelmine Boxset
-11 Jun 2009 01:46:49
Tenchi - The Movie Collecti...
-11 Apr 2009 00:46:33
Key - The Metal Idol Perfec...
-20 Dec 2008 00:34:43
El-Hazard - The Magnificent...
-03 Dec 2008 20:21:50
El Hazard - The Magnificent...
-28 Sep 2008 20:41:24
Samurai Spirits
-13 Jun 2008 17:30:47
Inuyasha Perfect Box 1-3 Li...
-16 May 2008 03:54:59
Cyborg 009 TV Series Part 1
-28 Apr 2008 02:36:39
Manie-Manie: Labyrinth Tale...
StoreForumAbout Us Sunday, Jan 29, 2023
Currently ~ Users Online
 

Reviews for Cowboy Bebop Perfect Collection
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 3.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  The video quality is pretty darn good. This is the first import I ever got. The quality looks fine to me. I would say the quality as almost if not as good as the region 1 disks.

Audio:
  The audio quality sounds good to me. I didn't hear any problems with it. That is none that I can remember.

Subtitle:
  The audio quality sounds good to me. I didn't hear any problems with it. That is none that I can remember.

Comment:
  This series is great. It is so much fun to watch. It has lots of action and some well timed humor. The english dub is also very good. Most of the episodes are stand alone and can be watch in any order, but there are some events that do link on episode to another such as a character leaving, returning, or entering the story for the first time. This really is a series that you have to watch. The only complaint that I have about this import is that the case that the dvds are in isn't quite as durable as some of the cases that I have for other dvds in region 1. For the price though, you really can't beat it. It's fewer disks, takes up less shelf space, costs less, and includes the movie. It really is better value than region . The labels are the same as the region 1 disks according to my friend. The dvd menus are also ripped off of the region 1 dvds. FX does a nice job with imports and they really seem to maximze the capacity of the dvd without sacrificing quality. Rating: 95/100 I docked 5 points for the lack of durability of the package. I dropped it out of my hands and the plastic broke off in several places, but that is a negligible detail. Don't let that stop you.
themayor
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 1278
 
This review has not been rated yet.
17 Jul 2005 18:04:10
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  Almost flawless. A little bit of pixalation here and there doesn't ruin the expeience one bit.

Audio:
  Audio sounds good even on my crappy system. From the gunshots, to the sounds of a wailing saxaphone, the sound was very impressive.

Subtitle:
  Audio sounds good even on my crappy system. From the gunshots, to the sounds of a wailing saxaphone, the sound was very impressive.

Comment:
  Such a great package, especially for the price. The only problem that I had was that all three dvds skipped in one spot on my dvd player.. However, they worked fine on my PS2... It's only a minor problem.
foofan_22
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 384
 
This review has not been rated yet.
16 Jul 2005 23:38:04
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  Pixelation here and there but nothing to worry about.

Audio:
  No problems with the Japanese track.

Subtitle:
  No problems with the Japanese track.

Comment:
  FX does it again. This set is perfect and should be owned by everyone. Although I think it is overrated it is still a very good show and should be seen at least once by anime fans everywhere.
asilaydying999x
Level: 2
Reviews: 16
Experience: 5342
 
This review has not been rated yet.
25 Jan 2005 03:34:24
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  The video, besides minor pixelation, is perfect. Looked just about as clear as the R1 DVDs themselves did.

Audio:
  Audio was excellent, I watched this half english, and the last half in Japanese... both where flawless and at perfection. One soundtrack may have been louder than the other, but that didnt make any difference in the outcome.

Subtitle:
  Audio was excellent, I watched this half english, and the last half in Japanese... both where flawless and at perfection. One soundtrack may have been louder than the other, but that didnt make any difference in the outcome.

Comment:
  Well, even though theres already a bunch of reviews for this title, I figuire I'll add my peice anyways. The packaging is one of my favorites I have seen so far for FX, the first thing you see when you open it up is a list of episodes, with pictures to match (my favorite was "Jamming with Edward"). Then the next open is a epsiode list, with the 3 disks, I liked the artwork. Im pretty sure they're the covers of the R1 version. And, now on to the series itself . . . In my top 10, thats for sure. Absolutely amazing, I loved every aspect of it and wasnt bored for a moment! The ending was great too, sad but great. All the characters rocked, and the music was amazing. One thing I looked forward too every epsiode was seeing a song I loved, incorperated into an epsiode. So as far as story goes, 5+/5 Excellent. If you havent seen it, Buy it.
katherine_jean
Level: 3
Reviews: 11
Experience: 11716
 
100% (1) found this review useful
22 Nov 2004 17:27:23
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  The video quality of this anime was superb. It had the R1 quality and none of the pixellation or distorted lines appeared. I had played this on my DVD player (don't recommend using PS2, causes images to freeze) and the colors and brightness were just rich and vivid.

Audio:
  The audio quality was just perfect, voice cast of the characters either in Japanese or English sounds excellent. Music was played throughout the series that had a very upbeat and energizing tempo to it. The ending song was very soothing and mellow. Audio quality... crystal clear.

Subtitle:
  The audio quality was just perfect, voice cast of the characters either in Japanese or English sounds excellent. Music was played throughout the series that had a very upbeat and energizing tempo to it. The ending song was very soothing and mellow. Audio quality... crystal clear.

Comment:
  Even though I'm a chick who digs Romanitical/Comedy themes, I had to give this a two thumbs up. Lots of action packed scenes that sometimes sets you on the edge of your seat, w/ a whole lot of shoot em up scenes that amazingly I find entertaining. But also, there's a certain level of intense plots that you would find in this series, this is not your average kiddy anime. If you like to watch cool guys with guns, hot chicks, and a good storyline, you have got to see this.
angelic*yumi*
Level: 3
Reviews: 13
Experience: 12461
 
100% (1) found this review useful
30 Sep 2004 02:01:27
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  There was no problem i could find anywher ein the collection. A few spots may have had minor glitches but nothing terrible enough to draw my attention heavily.

Audio:
  Great audio one of the best i have experienced on a Fx set. Quality was great no complaints

Subtitle:
  Great audio one of the best i have experienced on a Fx set. Quality was great no complaints

Comment:
  I love this anime. It was one of my first ones long time ago and i still enjoy it today. It's dang hard to find the quality of characters you find in this anime and you can't beat the awesome music scores and action scenes. GOOD STUFF
Dragoon
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 509
 
100% (4) found this review useful
23 Jul 2004 05:12:48
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  Pretty good. I did not notice any pixelation problems or any problems of the sort with the video. Sometimes the colors weren't very "vibrant and crisp" and I did not know if this was from the actual show or compression from this release. Stiil, im giving this a 5 because it was easily watchable and I did not notice any video problems in my viewing experiences.

Audio:
  Didn't notice any problems with this one. I could hear every bark from the dog Ein to the sound of an airship booting up for flight. Never once did the audio mess up as to make me notice. On my viewing experience I did not notice any sync problems or volume issues. Great ^__^

Subtitle:
  Didn't notice any problems with this one. I could hear every bark from the dog Ein to the sound of an airship booting up for flight. Never once did the audio mess up as to make me notice. On my viewing experience I did not notice any sync problems or volume issues. Great ^__^

Comment:
  Great set. With some nice extras, excellent selection of scenes to choose from, and a great quality of both Audio and Video this is a great CowBoy BeBop perfect collection. Menus sometimes were a little flat, for example the subtitle screen on the menu is quite unattractive and ugly. The show itself was very enjoyable. With a great cast of characters, rewatchable moments, scenes that had me chuckeling, etc; I am glad I bought it. If this was rated by the MPAA it would score a PG to a PG-13. There is some fight scenes and uses of guns and swearing isn't that strong (damns and shits only). There is little amount of nudity/sexual situations. With only a few shots of a porno magazine in the show that is not detailed at all and is viewed from a good distance it isn't bad -- trust me. Faye's outfit can be a little revealing to some but there isn't any nudity showing. A great theme song, music, space-action, and comedic elements make this a great tv series. I must own if you are interested in this kind of anime. Edward is my favorite character who constantly had me laughing with her "odd-ball"ness o_O...So, hurry up space cowboy and get this set!!
Sheepy
Level: 3
Reviews: 6
Experience: 12174
 
100% (4) found this review useful
04 Jun 2004 20:51:36
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  Absolutely perfect. Played this perfect collection on my Sony DVD player (standalone) and had no problems at all. No pixellation, no ghosting, and no problems with the space/warp gate scenes as others have reported. A perfect copy of any R1 you can buy.

Audio:
  Again, absolutely no problems. The voices come in crystal clear and the music plays perfectly fine. All the extra booms and gunshots come in clear too, right on time (no off track sounds). Mostly played the english dub, but when I did have the Japanese audio going it was fine too.

Subtitle:
  Again, absolutely no problems. The voices come in crystal clear and the music plays perfectly fine. All the extra booms and gunshots come in clear too, right on time (no off track sounds). Mostly played the english dub, but when I did have the Japanese audio going it was fine too.

Comment:
  A great series for a great price in a great box set for a grand time. If you are a fan of Cowboy Bebop, like me, then go no further than getting this set. Makes you wonder why pay $180 or more for the R1 sets when you can get a perfect version like this.
BossHighwind
Level: 1
Reviews: 4
Experience: 2622
 
100% (1) found this review useful
08 Jan 2004 01:17:01
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  Looks pretty good playing on my 20" Prima, with a PS2, using only RCA cables. I tried it on my Toshiba standalone DVD player, on a 27" Hitachi, using S-Video, and it looks slightly better...not a LOT, but some of the grain and stuff is gone. There is some minor pixellation and blockiness during action-heavy sequences, such as gun shootouts and some of the scenes where the ship is flying through the warp tunnel things (yellow tunnels). Overall a good R1 rip, but not the best possible. Maybe if they got rid of the special features and trailers on each disc, the video quality would be improved.

Audio:
  Didn't really have any problems with the audio, except that sometimes the Japanese voices didn't sync up with the movement, but it might have just been the PS2 I was playing it on. 90% of the time it is fine, in both English and Japanese. Pretty good audio too, considering it is only 2.0 Dolby.

Subtitle:
  Didn't really have any problems with the audio, except that sometimes the Japanese voices didn't sync up with the movement, but it might have just been the PS2 I was playing it on. 90% of the time it is fine, in both English and Japanese. Pretty good audio too, considering it is only 2.0 Dolby.

Comment:
  This set was really well done, the front cover features glossy character art, and the inside pictures are also glossy. The discs are R1 retail quality, with the labels stamped with on to the disc, making them metallic looking. Overall this is probably the best looking bebop set released.
DarkGiygas
Level: 4
Reviews: 12
Experience: 21309
 
100% (3) found this review useful
20 Dec 2003 13:02:51
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  Beautiful, although I have skipping and pixelation problems on my apex it works fine on the ps2 (I'm starting to suspect the apex)

Audio:
  clear and fine in both japanese and english. The english dub is actually pretty good

Subtitle:
  clear and fine in both japanese and english. The english dub is actually pretty good

Comment:
  what could I possibly say about this set that hasn't already been said? My first anime, and it doesn't get any better than this...
cowboy_ed
Level: 1
Reviews: 2
Experience: 528
 
100% (1) found this review useful
18 Dec 2003 00:33:37
Video: Rating of 3.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.5 out of 0
Video:
  This is a review of the "remastered" set. I previously owned the AV set that was a rip of the first FX set. That set had plenty of pixelation and such. When I heard that there was a new set that had 'fixed' video, I immediately ordered one. Well, the problem isn't really fixed. In this remastered set, there are some changes that I will talk about later, but the video isn't much better. Granted that this was FX's first HK set, but it is still dissapointing. The worst parts are the hyperspace gate scenes and there is a bunch of pixelation in episode 3 right at the begining. Now the part that really irks me is that in the 'extras' section, there are some video clips in the 'character intros' section, and there is also a short feature on the whole 'hyperspace gate' thing in the anime. Those sections are presented in PERFECT form. There is no pixelation, the image is sharp and very clear. I don't know why they couldn't give us the same quality on the actual episodes. If you are a person who isn't too bothered by picture quality, then this is the set for you. I mean it isn't really bad, but I have seen much better from FX.

Audio:
  No problems. Both tracks are great.

Subtitle:
  No problems. Both tracks are great.

Comment:
  For the price, this is a great set and the best Bebop set out there. It is too bad that the video isn't as good as it probably could be. On this 'remastered' set the changes that were made included: No more bouncing back to 'episode select' after each episode. Subtitles on extras. 'Improved' video. I love this series.
rarnom
Level: 4
Reviews: 15
Experience: 17974
 
100% (1) found this review useful
21 Nov 2003 08:33:58
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  This video was great- the only problems I noticed were pixilation when they had some of the hyperspace senes going on. Those were few and far between; infact, i only notice that happen on 2 of the episodes. Other then that, I enjoyed watching 26 episodes of superb quality anime.

Audio:
  The audio was fabulous. The english dubbing was done extremely well- you can tell they put a lot of time into it. The voices ended with the mouth movements and in my opinion the voices fit the characters well.

Subtitle:
  The audio was fabulous. The english dubbing was done extremely well- you can tell they put a lot of time into it. The voices ended with the mouth movements and in my opinion the voices fit the characters well.

Comment:
  The rest of this set was also done with a high quality. The menus were beautiful and very easy to get around as well as being fun to watch. The extras were not the same on every DVD which is a nice break. The box art is some of the nicest I have seen-even on american DVDs. The art on the DVD was also stunning making the total package a fabulous buy. I am more that satisfied with my purchase.
Lambrt429
Level: 1
Reviews: 2
Experience: 2057
 
This review has not been rated yet.
29 Oct 2003 23:23:02
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  I just got the "remastered" Cowboy Bebop set (all new cowboy bebop sets are remastered now), and i checked the areas where i had previously seen pixelation on the old set, and it was all flawless, the hyperspace things were not pixelated as they were in the other set, but each individual line in the hyperspace gates dont blur at the ends like they do in the R1s but i think it still deserves a 5. (ok now the thing is that i watched this on a toshiba standalone dvd player... and i have heard in various places that toshiba players do some video fixing of their own... that could be a reason i see so little pixelation... even after much scrutiny)

Audio:
  Audio was perfect, however the voices were too quiet and the sound effects too loud.. however i think that thats a problem with the source audio because i have encoutered many R1s with the same issue

Subtitle:
  Audio was perfect, however the voices were too quiet and the sound effects too loud.. however i think that thats a problem with the source audio because i have encoutered many R1s with the same issue

Comment:
  Packaging (did i spell that right?): The packaging of the remasted set is slightly different from the regular... the characters on the front use glossy paper instead of regular, and all the wrting is in glossy paper as well (including inside and on the back). All the pictures on the inside for each episode are glossy as well. Another difference is that on the discs themselves the writing: "Cowboy Bebop" is silver instead of white.
LordMelkor
Level: 3
Reviews: 8
Experience: 10366
 
100% (1) found this review useful
26 Jun 2003 01:28:10
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  I don't know where these other people have seen pixelation, but my copy is flawless. I have watched it on my 27 inch high resolution tv using component video and never saw pixelation once, and I always notice stuff like that.

Audio:
  The audio is flawless as well with the English dubbed voices that you hear on Cartoon Network.

Subtitle:
  The audio is flawless as well with the English dubbed voices that you hear on Cartoon Network.

Comment:
  This was a great find. I had wanted to buy this series since I first saw it, but it was always so damn expensive. The original release had six DVDs and they each sold for $20-$30 a piece. This is a condensed, three disc version that had all the same menus as the original release and the same great picture quality, I know because I have rented four of the six originals, and it only cost $35 for the set. I must recommend this series to any one because it is a great show. And you would have to be pretty dumb to pay $150+ for something you can buy for $35.
ssgoku
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 782
 
100% (1) found this review useful
11 May 2003 23:12:43
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 3.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.0 out of 0
Video:
  Bits of pixelation in high action scenes.. not much... oberver there is only one major niticable pixelation that occurs in one episode while they are going through a hyperspace tunnel...

Audio:
  its really quiet...

Subtitle:
  its really quiet...

Comment:
  the menus were really cool if possible id give 6/5 for menus. packaginwas in general pretty good... no major issues... but to be really nit picky id have to say that in the area where all the episodes are listed with pictures, three eps are missing from the list one the box (though they are on the dvd) then on the inner list of eps they have the complete ep list, but it might have been nice if they had put in braks to signify which eps were on what disk...
LordMelkor
Level: 3
Reviews: 8
Experience: 10366
 
100% (1) found this review useful
08 May 2003 20:55:04
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  Overall very good. A little pixelation in one or two action scenes but nothing drastic.

Audio:
  Awesome music and a great dub to boot. Top notch audio all around!

Subtitle:
  Awesome music and a great dub to boot. Top notch audio all around!

Comment:
  This is one of the best series out there. And this DVD set gives you the whole thing at a great price. I highly recomend CB to everyone.
merlin48
Level: 2
Reviews: 7
Experience: 5446
 
100% (1) found this review useful
25 Jan 2003 16:16:17
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  The video was flawless most of the time, probably an R1 rip but I am just guessing. Even in the fast pace scenes the viedeo was great, the only reason I gave in 1/2 a point off was because whenever the bebop team goes into hyperspace there seamed to be some pretty big pixelation problems but those scnes are short and few and overall the video is awsome.

Audio:
  Nothing that i can put my finger on. The audio is crisp clear no hissing, popping, nothing.

Subtitle:
  Nothing that i can put my finger on. The audio is crisp clear no hissing, popping, nothing.

Comment:
  Overall: Best bebop set out there, as simple as that
OptimisticOx
Level: 6
Reviews: 16
Experience: 56942
 
This review has not been rated yet.
21 Jan 2003 15:39:05
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  Pretty good, but if everyone hadn't mentioned the pixelation i woundn't have noticed it

Audio:
  i hate dubs so i watched the original version, its all good

Subtitle:
  i hate dubs so i watched the original version, its all good

Comment:
  why did i buy this? this show isn't all that great imo, hell its barely even good. i've only watched up to Jupiter Jazz part 1, and i'm 'bout ready to trade this off. The characters just don't interest me and the cowboy wannabe theme gets on my nerves. i don't know why the hell anybody would rate this over EVA, but thats jus my opinion
slim_shinji
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 407
 
100% (2) found this review useful
18 Nov 2002 22:30:57
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.5 out of 0
Comment:
  As with most people that has reviewed this, the video is not perfect but very good. There's is quite a bit of pixelation on disc 1 on some of the action scenes, but after that on disc 2 & 3 it's minimal. To me it's totally watchable. The audio is great, though I did find the sound on the menus louder than the episodes. Subs are perfect. No spelling errors due to it being a R1 rip. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable series, one I'll watch again. edited by Bredrin on 18 Nov 2002 2:31 pm
Bredrin
Level: 1
Reviews: 3
Experience: 1029
 
This review has not been rated yet.
09 Nov 2002 23:30:00
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  I see what the others are saying about the video being a tad bit pixelicious around high action sequences, but for me, I had to look for it. I had a basic setup, nothing special. I ran it on my playstation 2 on a normal tv and it looks great. Audio and subtitles are outstanding. Packaging majorly kicks ass and looks like it came off the shelf at Suncoast. For people that run it through their computers, you may see more errors in the video such as macro blocking and de-interlacing for the high action sequences. Bob-McBob has some good shots of it. Tv's tend to clear up a lot of the pixel problems since their resolution is naturally lower. Don't let this review let you think it's not a good set, because I'm 100% happy with it. The video seems to be the only tidbit...very minor, cause 90% of the time it looks beautiful. Everything else is flawless. For the price, it's one hell of a buy. I gaurantee you will LOVE this set. Get it!
fxscreamer
Level: 2
Reviews: 2
Experience: 5187
 
100% (1) found this review useful
05 Nov 2002 13:57:34
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  Well I think after 36 reviews I won't tell you something new about this set - it's a really great RC1 rip! Video 4/5: Very good video, but pixellation at the high-motion scenes - I have no problem with that. Audio 5/5: Absolutely no prolems! Subs 5/5: RC1 rip - Perfect! Content: One of the best anime-series I've ever seen. Watch it!
Tooya
Level: 2
Reviews: 14
Experience: 6269
 
This review has not been rated yet.
08 Oct 2002 14:12:35
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  Well, since a lot has been said on this, I don't have much to add, just this: video: It's a pretty good R1 rip, but if you're someone who's easily irritatd by pixelation in your video, you're gonna hate this release. Almost all the high motion sequenses have pretty bad pixelation. For me it was OK, because I can live with it. 4.25/5 audio: Japanese and English audio. Both sound very good. 5/5 Subs: R1 rip, perfect. 5/5 Very nice release by FX, they even keep the extra's, though the interviews aren't subbed... It even has trailers for other Bandai shows :)
Markaveli
Level: 8
Reviews: 51
Experience: 109542
 
100% (1) found this review useful
03 Oct 2002 14:29:00
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  Its the first hk anime that I have ordered and I was really surprised wit the quality of the box and the video. Video 4.5/5 Like everybody, I found the quality of the video really great with sometime a little pixelisation but nothing really important Sound 4/5 The sound is great but on the english track the voice are a little low and you need to play with the sound level when you have an action scene Susbtitles/traduction 5/5 Its so great to heard spike, jet and the others speaking in english!!! The dub is really great and I cant wait to watch the entire serie
morbidshadow
Level: 1
Reviews: 2
Experience: 812
 
This review has not been rated yet.
02 Sep 2002 23:32:02
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  The video was good enough for me. True there are problems (Session #3 Honky Tonk Women had lots of macro blocking when Faye was blasting some people at the beginning). However if you have ever watched fan subs, you'll be all set. Fan sub video quality doesn't bother me, so I was really happy with this release.

Audio:
  No problems with the audio. I'm glad they included the dub because it's one of the few (in my humble opinion) to be beter than the original Japanese cast. Though both sound nice, the Japanese audio has louder background songs.

Subtitle:
  No problems with the audio. I'm glad they included the dub because it's one of the few (in my humble opinion) to be beter than the original Japanese cast. Though both sound nice, the Japanese audio has louder background songs.

Comment:
  After 32 reviews, much has been said, so I won't go into too much detail. Video 5/5 - The video is great. However there is macro blocking at high action seens or fast screen switches. However after watching Marmalade Boy in 3rd generation fan sub it really didn't bother me. Sound 5/5 - The sound is awesome. It rocked with my sub woofer. The English dub is also included. I watched it, because I like it better than the Japanese voices. The voice acting for the English is simply incredible. No popping or crackling. Subs 5/5 - Though I didn't watch it subbed, I did spot check. The subtitles are white (I prefer yellow). Everything is in perfect english. Also it is not a dubtitle. Yahoooooo. Though I thought the subs were a little small. Package 5/5 - I like the packaging a lot. Nuff said. Episode listing which is always nice. Replayability 5/5 - This will see a lot of action. It's going to get a complete 26 episode rewatch in a couple of years, However there are individual episodes that I like, so I'll keep checking those out. Content 5/5 - The series rocked. It has a great mix of comedy and action. Not to mention the ending is incredible. The coreography was amazing on the fight scenes. If you haven't checked it out, pick up the set, it only costs $35. Well worth your money. edited by Steve_the_Talking_Pie on 02 Oct 2002 6:19 pm
Steve_the_Talking_Pie
Level: 5
Reviews: 16
Experience: 28794
 
100% (3) found this review useful
10 Aug 2002 04:44:21
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  Fx titles have all done pretty good, nothing new with this one. The picture quality is good enough not to cringe and the audio is too. Fx(Florachanxxx) should get mad props because she always keeps the English Dub with it and has the best quality out of most of the HK companies... This collection has a nice gatefold pakaging and looks fantastic, has a good price, if you're a collector of HK get it and stop reading my s**t ;p
Saiklonus
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 351
 
This review has not been rated yet.
05 Aug 2002 02:38:45
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  Well... I'm a quality nut, so I wasnt 100% satisfied. I feel that the extras should have been dropped for the sake of better quality episodes. The macroblocking can get annoying at times, but seems much more tolerable on a PC monitor than a TV.

Comment:
  While it may not be "perfect", its pretty darn close. Video: 4.5|5 I ran this DVD both on my DVD player (Pioneer DV343) and my PC (WinDVD). I ran it on my DVD player first, and sadly.. I was disappointed. There seemed to be a pretty good amount of "macroblocking" both on action scenes and still scenes. I watched 3 episodes that way, then changed over to my PC for watching it. There was definately an improvement. Alot less macroblocking and just overall better video. I've included pictures to show it at its best and worst. Audio: 5|5 I've had no problems with the audio. Its sounds great through the highs and lows. *thumbs up* Just to note, though... I'm just using headphones. Oh, and inclusion of the English voice track was appreciated. This is one of the better dubs. Subtitles: 5|5 As others have mentioned... direct rip from the R1 DVDs. No problems here. Extras: 4|5 A good bit of extras ripped from the R1 releases. These have not been re-encoded and look absolutely perfect. My only gripe with this set is that I wish the extras weren't included. I feel that, instead of a "music clip" and untranslated interviews, the episodes should have been given a quality boost. Just my opinion... but I feel being able to have a near flawless action scene is worth the price of a few novelty extras. Overall, I would recommend this set if you havent experienced Cowboy Bebop already. It certainly is worth the price!
Shippou
Level: 4
Reviews: 7
Experience: 22898
 
100% (1) found this review useful
30 Jul 2002 09:37:01
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  everyone seems to say there's some pixelation, but I really haven't noticed it as much as some people have...I have yet to notice any..too engrosed in the episodes I guess ^_^

Comment:
  I wouldn't be surpirsed if I bought this from best buy...looks so pricey! the packing reeks of class and the menus and interface is pretty nice.. I love the materials and art used in the dvd gatefold package. nice touch! the audio and video are pretty much flawless for what you pay for this set. a true value! I can't imagine anyone being disappointed. as far as the content goes, well bebop is just awesome. great music, killer animation, superb character design and an excellent english dub that surpasses the japanese track. Spike sounds "more himself" in english! highly recommended
laparka72
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 649
 
This review has not been rated yet.
08 Jul 2002 22:47:09
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Jesus, oh, Jesus! Where to begin... Well, I bought this set on eBay from florachanxxx, pretty skeptically, I might add. (This was BEFORE I knew about this site existing.) I knew that florachanxxx normally only provided FX titles, but every once in a while, I've seen some non-FX stuff there, so I didn't know WHAT to do. So, I just bid on it with a sort of "What the hell?" attitude. I got it in, and I watched the entire series in three days. Since then, it has become one of my all-time favorites! This is a spectacular series! Video-- (5/5) Perfect on my setup. Beautiful, actually. Audio-- (5/5) Well, about once an episode, it would get a tad bit quieter, (I'm being SUPER nitpicky here.) but it was pretty much perfect, all in all. No complaints, other than what I already pointed out there. Subtitles-- (5/5) Best subtitles... ever. Content-- (5/5) As I said before, this has become one of my all-time favorite serieses. I love it, and seeing as how this is basically a R1 rip, I could reccomend this set, (along with this SERIES) to anyone looking for a good anime. If you dislike Cowboy Bebop, well, then I HATE you. With my ENTIRE body! (Including my pee-pee!)
SomebodyKillMe
Level: 5
Reviews: 41
Experience: 28745
 
This review has not been rated yet.
01 Jul 2002 21:45:09
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Cowboy Bebop Review Video: 4.5/5 It's not as perfect as people say but it is still awesome. Pixilation on hyperspace and dogfights. Audio: 5/5 No Problems here. One of the few English dubs I like! Subtitles: 5/5 R1 Rip. Content: 5/5 THIS SERIES ROCKS! Equal to Trigun in my opinion. Shinichiro Watanabe is one of the best!BUY! NOW! GO! Package Design: 5/5 I love it! On the inside it contains edited R1 covers so that it says "Session 1-3" and on the fourth panel has a complete episode list and on the inside flaps, there are the episode pics that were in the R1s (minus episodes 23 and 24 because there was no space for them). This set is perfect in every way! Must have! edited by Pepsidude on 08 Jul 2002 7:20 am
Pepsidude
Level: 2
Reviews: 10
Experience: 7568
 
This review has not been rated yet.
25 Jun 2002 06:51:54
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  What else can be said about this release? It's awesome... go buy it. :) The only thing that I didn't like about it was that the extras are not subtitled in English. That's a minor complaint though. I also do not notice the pixelation as much as other people, so it all depends on what equipment your using. This is one of the best HK releases I've seen.
schnuth
Level: 2
Reviews: 8
Experience: 4780
 
This review has not been rated yet.
21 Jun 2002 05:37:25
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  Really good just the pixelation on some action scenes. Not a lot. Not that noticable. Very good for HK DVD :) Audio: Not a problem, nice and loud. I love the music, especially the ending song. Subtitle: Perfect subs. There's nothing to complain about. Comments: This series is really good actually. A lot of action and the story is really interesting. I usually go for shoujo anime but Bebop and Outlaw Star are some exceptions. Cowboy Bebop is better in the animation quality though. Just get both of these sets because they're just about perfect comparing to other HK DVDs.
Irissschan
Level: 2
Reviews: 10
Experience: 6874
 
This review has not been rated yet.
18 Jun 2002 09:20:56
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  It's hard to add any more superlatives upon this set after reading the previous reviews, so i'll just quickly tell you what i found. This set is near faultless, its an R1 rip right down to the extras, subtitles and dub are great. Video and Audio are top quality with only fast action cgi screens containing minute pixelation, but you'd have to be looking for it to notice (i was looking). Wonderfull packaging and well presented disks, you cannot go wrong in purchasing this set, Most people dont comment on the content of the show, and niether will i. You really must watch it to fully understand how great it is! Best HK set out there, forget your next car repayment and buy this set!
Rock Ard
Level: 2
Reviews: 4
Experience: 3046
 
This review has not been rated yet.
16 Jun 2002 03:14:59
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  I sorta liked the Story to this... THe First time i watched this....I thought the subs sucked, and the Video and Audio were average....The second time i watched this and the Subs weren't that bad...but we all knoe this could have been much better...You guys should just get the MI Version
vtpnysolostar854
Level: 3
Reviews: 8
Experience: 10130
 
This review has not been rated yet.
11 Jun 2002 20:32:29
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  You don't really need my review... I agree to everything said below.
matt__chambers
Level: 1
Reviews: 2
Experience: 1352
 
100% (1) found this review useful
09 Jun 2002 23:03:31
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  The name of the set really does say it all ( without being terribly corny). Without being nitpicky this is a virtually perfect set. Here's a run down; VIDEO: 4.5/5 Aside from a small amount of pixelation in the first few episodes on the first disc the video was flawless. The action scenes later on held up very well, which is integral to enjoying some of the fights. AUDIO: 5/5 Both the English and Japanese tracks were excellent as well. The voice acting for both is great and the sound quality was very good. I have a very basic hook up to my stereo, so I can't get terribly in depth. The soundtrack for the show sounded great as well. SUBTITLES: 5/5 Seeing as how I can't read much Chinese I can only say that the English subs were good. The timing was right on and the translations were done well. As this is a straight rip of the Pioneer set, the subs were very clean looking, white, and in an easy to read and attractive font. Pioneer always seems to have the best subs in my opinion. EXTRAS: 5/5 The extras were very unexpected, as this is after all an HK set. All the extras from the real set were left in. These include (video) character introductions, interviews with creators, voice actors, directors, etc. (unfortunately in Japanese with Japanese subtitles), trailers for other Pioneer released anime, music videos, and more. PRESENTATION: 5/5 Great looking box. It's a cardboard-ish gatefold in a plastic slipcase. Mine shipped with the DVDs in CD envelopes inside the shrink wrap. The box has great artwork, the DVDs look good, and the FX (Florachanxxx) logos are small enough to not be terribly invasive. The scene selections work so that every episode is selectable from "Scene Selection" menu. Each episode is broken into the opening title, avant title, section A, section B, closing title, and, coming episode, so you can get to whichever part of the episode you want. Even though there is an actual "Play All", it doesn't continue to play after the end of an episode. Over all, you can't go wrong with this set. Cowboy Bebop is a great anime and this release represents it correctly. I only had one problem with an error in the disc (bad authoring maybe?) where in one of the episodes on the second disc the episode skipped badly and caused the disc to stop reading in my PS2. Luckily, you can just fast forward that part to get past it. Don't let that stop you from buying this, however. It's well worth the money you lay down for it. - Reid
Reid
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 2097
 
100% (1) found this review useful
02 Jun 2002 06:55:12
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  I am mightily impressed with this purchase. After reading the reviews myself and taking into consideration the wonderful ratings it received, I just had to check it out. And I assure you, it's deservedly one of the best imported anime purchases you can make. Video, audio, and subtitle quality are top-notch, synonymous to that of anime released in the U.S. Stop reading this and buy it now if you're even remotely considering purchasing it. It's definitely worth the dough. The series itself is wonderful, complete with fluid animation and neat 3d-ish scenes, a moving and engrossing storyline, well-developed characters, and witty dialogue.
tfcharry
Level: 1
Reviews: 3
Experience: 1193
 
This review has not been rated yet.
29 May 2002 05:06:20
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  Really good just the pixellation on some action scenes. Not a lot. Not that noticable. Very good for HK DVD :)

Audio:
  Not a problem, nice and loud. I love the music, especially the ending song.

Subtitle:
  Not a problem, nice and loud. I love the music, especially the ending song.

Comment:
  This series is really good actually. A lot of action and the story is really interesting. I usually go for shoujo anime but Bebop and Outlaw Star are some exceptions. Cowboy Bebop is better in the animation quality though. Just get both of these set because they're perfect for HK DVDs.

Irissschan from dvdsubs.com
dvdsubs.com
Level:
Reviews:
Experience:
 
This review has not been rated yet.
24 May 2002 04:18:29
Video: Rating of 3.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  These DVDs are encoded with CBR (constant bitrate) as opposed to VBR (variable bitrate). As a result, some of the higher motion scenes suffer considerably. It's most noticeable in scenes which take place inside the "gates." I was really disappointed by this.

Audio:
  No problems here, direct from the R1 set.

Subtitle:
  No problems here, direct from the R1 set.

Comment:
  Despite the lackluster video quality, this set is *the* HK set to buy for Cowboy Bebop.
Bob_McBob from dvdsubs.com
dvdsubs.com
Level:
Reviews:
Experience:
 
This review has not been rated yet.
14 May 2002 17:32:52
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Comment:
  This is truly a Perfect Session.. Video:5/5 Audio:4.5/5- the only problem wit this is that the Japanese Track seems to be lower then the English track i just heard it a little I been watchin the Dub which was done quite well IMO. Subtitles:5/5- if u watch the Japanese track, u will get treated to great subtitles, i believe they are directly from the R1 release. Even if the are not they are still totally on point Hope FX releases many more like....
Prolific00
Level: 1
Reviews: 5
Experience: 2331
 
This review has not been rated yet.
05 May 2002 23:11:48
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  Video: Very Good Audio Very Good (English and Japanese) Subs: Excellent Extras: Very Good (Interviews, Music Videos, and Previews) Package: Excellent Content: Excellent A really great series that has a lot to offer. Great Action, Humor and Drama, that's never dumbed down. You actually have to think for your self a little becuase you're never spoon fed the intricate details of the main characters indepth pasts. You won't be dissapointed (or broke) if you get HK set.
krunkster
Level: 2
Reviews: 12
Experience: 6879
 
This review has not been rated yet.
04 May 2002 16:07:02
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  This was a great set , u get every thing even the extras. video-it was perty good(havent checked every cd but from what I've seen it looks perty great) audio-its good but when i switch from japanese audio to english it seems to sound much lower but i think its my dvd-rom, i havent checked it out on my dvd player. subs- straight rip from the us release (this set is a rip from the us release soi guess the subs are great) really good subs. overal this is a great set to buy.
Otakami
Level: 1
Reviews: 3
Experience: 1177
 
This review has not been rated yet.
22 Apr 2002 15:52:29
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Video and audio are extremely good, the subtitles probably as good as you'll get and the box is pretty cool. The quality of the computer-aided animation is most impressive and the soundtrack is really well done, often sad and jazzy. But that's as close to bebop (as jazz genre) as they ever get. You might also have to turn off everything you've learned about physics and space travel to avoid getting annoyed, for gravity and inertia often appear and go away like magic. Story wise - every episode is a little adventure that gives you the chance to find out more about the characters and their history, and the conflict is focused in the final episode climax, very much like Trigun. Not all the episodes are good and none of them is truly brilliant but overall it's fun to watch.
symphara
Level: 3
Reviews: 16
Experience: 10788
 
This review has not been rated yet.
18 Apr 2002 05:44:16
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  I sold all my R1 bebop dvds because with the high quality on this set there is no need for them anymore and the money is better spent on other titles. video:5 (mostly same as r1) audio:4.5 (same) sub: 4.5 (same) The pinnaccle of my HK collection.
ryan2613
Level: 1
Reviews: 3
Experience: 578
 
This review has not been rated yet.
16 Apr 2002 01:29:03
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  This is THE only set to get. The video and audio are near perfect. And unlike those other HK sets with their barely intelligible subtitles, these ones have perfect subs. This set even includes the English dub for anyone who wants that (not me though). Compare the price of this to the Region 1 set, which will run you well over $100, and this is the one to get.
kitano
Level: 3
Reviews: 42
Experience: 10908
 
This review has not been rated yet.
01 Apr 2002 07:32:22
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Comment:
  4.5/5 for the video. Why not 5/5? Because of the fact that fx crammed so many episodes into a disc,9 for disc one and 8 for disc two and three that the bitrate is a bit lower than the r1 release. It is perfect except for certain scenes where there is very fast motion and the screen get slightly pixalated. Very minor problem though. 5/5 for sound. Clear sound with the option of Engish or japanese. Love the english dubbing as much as the jap one which is rare in anime. 5/5. Perfect subs. R1 rip. It is cowboy bebop...it is perfect...what more do you need? Buy the fx version.
wingsta
Level: 2
Reviews: 11
Experience: 5864
 
This review has not been rated yet.
24 Mar 2002 07:25:03
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Yes Yes, this is the pinnacle of Cowboy Bebop greatness when it comes to HK releases. It beats the living hell out the old one for sure. And since its a direct rip of the R1 release all the great extras are here as well, including the none-too-shabby dub. Although there seem to be a few clashes in the equipment department. For some reason, this release has some serious problems with RCA dvd players. A friend of mine has two of them, one for his parents and one for him. I tested it on both them to varying results. On his parents' dvd player, the menus on the first disc acted screwy, whereas the second and third disc wouldnt even read. At this point, I started to panic and think I had gotten a bad set, so I took it upstairs to his dvd player. The first disc read fine and I breathed a sigh of relief. My relief didnt last long though because then his player wouldnt read the second disc at all. After a few tries of ejecting and playing it, I got the player to read it. The opening menu acted screwy but still played. And once I got out of it, it worked fine. The third disc also worked fine. Since then, I've tested it on a Playstation 2 and an Apex dvd player, both of which all the discs play fine on. So apparently the only conflicts this set has are with RCA players. So this is just a warning to those of you with RCA players to be wary of this set and be prepared for screwy menus or non-working discs. Everyone else, prepare for one of the best bootleg dvd sets you've ever seen.
Tuck420
Level: 2
Reviews: 11
Experience: 4054
 
This review has not been rated yet.
20 Mar 2002 21:06:21
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  The name says it all... "Perfect Collection"! Nothing wrong with this set, if you don't have the money to buy the R1's, then this is the set for you... Audio, Video, and Subtitle are all excellent! A MUST BUY!
GuardianG
Level: 1
Reviews: 10
Experience: 2358
 
This review has not been rated yet.
20 Mar 2002 18:06:53
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Get it! This is one of the few almost perfect HK sets. Its menu presentation is sweet, plenty of chapter breaks, excellent video quality and sound. Plus English and Japanese audio, you can go get a snack and not miss what they said @[email protected]
SolidSteak
Level: 2
Reviews: 10
Experience: 4995
 
This review has not been rated yet.
19 Mar 2002 14:06:02
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  The best HK set ever. Run out and buy it now. There are some minor video issues but nothing that detracts from the greatness of these Discs. edited by zethora on 19 Mar 2002 6:06 am
Zethora
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 154
 
This review has not been rated yet.
18 Mar 2002 18:31:42
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Comment:
  Video - 4.5/5 -------------------------- Wonderful, really somehting great. Vivid, sharp and pretty much similar to the US R1 release. There is a bit of grain thanks to the compression used to fit the episodes into 3 DVD's and in high motion scenes pixels raise their ugly heads but other than that, great. Audio - 5/5 -------------------------- No problems. Both the Japanese track and English dub track sound wonderful. Subtitles - 5/5 -------------------------- As they've come from the R1 release they're pretty much 100% correct. No problems once again. Safe buy and a worthwhile one. Next to the expensive R1 release it's a God send. Buy!
NoxiousOffender
Level: 3
Reviews: 10
Experience: 9422
 
This review has not been rated yet.
18 Mar 2002 06:30:36
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  This is the best HKDVD i have in my collection. I have not had any problems at all with this set. The set includes a dub, and has perfect subs. This is the set to get if you haven't seen Bebop yet.
Shinzero
Level: 2
Reviews: 12
Experience: 3589
 
This review has not been rated yet.
16 Mar 2002 14:48:54
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Ok, since there isn't a full review of this I copied the one from http://www.animeniacs.org from Cashan. I hope he doesn't mind. I thought it might be usefull for people who don't check Animeniacs for reviews. Here it is: All personal bias on this aside. I was very happy to hear that florachanxxx was going to be releasing this title. It was so horribly marred as far as english subtitles go on the AC set that a replacement has been needed for a long time. This set is a direct rip from the R1 Perfect Sessions set right down to the Menus being left intact. I coulndnt have been happier when I demoed it. Packaging: I love this gatefold set. I know that a lot are not partial to them after reading a lot of posts but this one was very nicely done. I like that the inside shows the DVD covers from the R1 release with the outside sporting the really nice artwork from the Perfect Sessions set. Video: I'd love to call this amazing flawless stuff. But it's not completely flawless. I did notice some color blotching (no, I don't have a more technical term for it than that). It happens in large areas of the same color and while it does not detract at all from the video it was slightly noticeable. I also noticed some fuzz at strange points like when they were looking at the view screen talking to Faye in ep5. Other than that this was awesome. Looked great. Audio: Great audio directly ripped from the Perfect R1 release.. and the dubbed track which I will argue to hell freezes over as being superior to the original Japanese. Or course.. I'll probably get hanged for saying stuff like that. But seriously I found no popping, no background noise at all while previewing it. Overall, an excellent audio track. Subtitles: Well since I can't read chinese.. let alone speak it.. I can't critique the only subs that were created for this release. I checked the subs and they follow along with the dub, which pretty much guarantees they are the original ones from the Bandai release. But then again.. I wasn't watching it for the subs / jap audio anyways. ^_^ Content: All here, including the extras. A nice touch on the part of Animation Video, they left the menus in tact and the only alteration made was to add a "next" button and the additional episodes since it's now 3 DVDs and not 6. But they did this very skillfully and I give them credit for this. They left the animated episode icons for all the menus/submenus. They also left all the original menus in.. which were very nicely done by Bandai. So what you get is a menu system that looks like Bandai did it.. while catering to the 3 DVD layout.. I give Animation Video and florachanxx much thanks for this. Chapter Breaks: Left in the original style, Part A, Opener, Episode pt1, Episode pt2, Ending, Preview. 6 Chpter breaks an episode. The only problem that florachanxxx pointed out to me in the area is that it kicks you back to the menu after each episode even if you put it in Play, which should have played them all end to end. Owel. While many will probably consider my opinion tainted, I still call this an awesome set. If you have already dropped the cash for the R1s I don't really recommend you go and run off to ebay to sell them real fast because as stated above I did find some things that I don't remember being in the R1, like fuzz and some color areas. If you don't have the R1.. save yourself 180$ and just get this set. The problems I found were to insignifigant to quibble over a 150$ savings. And that's my 2cents.
shadypower
Level: 3
Reviews: 13
Experience: 12594
 
100% (1) found this review useful
   
© 2005 Import-Anime.com