Review List Search View Cart
-03 Feb 2011 15:53:05
Zenki Saga Part 4
-10 Jun 2010 00:38:57
Rizelmine Boxset
-11 Jun 2009 01:46:49
Tenchi - The Movie Collecti...
-11 Apr 2009 00:46:33
Key - The Metal Idol Perfec...
-20 Dec 2008 00:34:43
El-Hazard - The Magnificent...
-03 Dec 2008 20:21:50
El Hazard - The Magnificent...
-28 Sep 2008 20:41:24
Samurai Spirits
-13 Jun 2008 17:30:47
Inuyasha Perfect Box 1-3 Li...
-16 May 2008 03:54:59
Cyborg 009 TV Series Part 1
-28 Apr 2008 02:36:39
Manie-Manie: Labyrinth Tale...
StoreForumAbout Us Saturday, Sep 19, 2020
Currently ~ Users Online
 

Reviews for Vision of Escaflowne TV Perfect Collection
Video: Rating of 3.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.2 out of 0
Video:
  Video was ok-now that I have the R1 set to compare this rip to, the "rainbow" effect that someone else commented on is present in the R1 discs, it has something to do with the video being run through composite connections during the mastering process.

Audio:
  Good basic stereo, no problems.

Subtitle:
  Good basic stereo, no problems.

Comment:
  This is a series that mixes shojo and shonen elements in equal parts, very well done story and music-especially the opening theme. The female leads are pretty strongly portrayed, Von Fanel is quite a good male lead. This is one of the best fantasy series out there, old or new. It belongs in everybody's anime library.
Iria Zeiram
Level: 5
Reviews: 77
Experience: 37036
 
This review has not been rated yet.
20 Jun 2005 04:25:22
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  I saw no pixelation and skips AT ALL. This set is very good for it's age. The only problem i notice was some flickers and that was hardly at all. One other thing was some objects and charcters had flickers around them, but i think it might be my xbox, cus I don't remember it occuring when i played it on my regular dvd player. I'm gonna check it on my my computer and ps2 to see if it happens on those.

Audio:
  Very loud and clear sound. No problems here at all.

Subtitle:
  Very loud and clear sound. No problems here at all.

Comment:
  The best part of this set was the storyline. Other then that the video is supurb, along with the audio. This is a must own for anyone.
OneWingedLH
Level: 2
Reviews: 4
Experience: 2933
 
This review has not been rated yet.
18 Jun 2005 12:53:18
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  WOW! For it's year, this is the best looking series from Sunrise to date. Great video transfer and no problems at all with the pixelations and such.

Audio:
  The audio sounds great for both the Japanese and English audio. Nothing at all wrong. Great r1 rip.

Subtitle:
  The audio sounds great for both the Japanese and English audio. Nothing at all wrong. Great r1 rip.

Comment:
  A great set. However one major problem was when I got to around disc 2, my DVD player kept getting "ERROR--can't read disc" so I transferred it to my code free DVD player and it worked fine. This is a great series, if anyone is a fan of Mecha combining with shoujo, then this is the anime for you. Each episode will keep you wanting more.
Oyamada89
Level: 2
Reviews: 11
Experience: 5617
 
This review has not been rated yet.
24 Jan 2005 23:14:46
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  The Video is excellent, like the rest of this set, flawless. I saw no pixelation on either TV I viewed it on. It was also realy clear, the same quality as the R1 DVDs are.

Audio:
  I didn't notice anythign wrong with it. I didn't like the dub, so I watched its original Japanese soundtrack, which was fine as far as I could tell.

Subtitle:
  I didn't notice anythign wrong with it. I didn't like the dub, so I watched its original Japanese soundtrack, which was fine as far as I could tell.

Comment:
  Escaflowne, is a great series. The only thing that I (thought) was wrong with this, was the fact that it stopped playing in my DVD player around the 2nd Disk, episode 14 I do beleive, but then I transferred it over to the PS2 and it was fine. I later discovered that all FX DVDs wouldnt play on my player after a certain epsiode on it (Berserk made it too 11, Onizuka to episode 2, and Bebop or X wouldnt play at all) so, I got a new player, and it's all playing fine. Back to Escafowne . . . this is a great series, with a great variety of genre mixed into it, mecha, drama, action, comedy..and more ;P The artwork on the box is great! Though, it was movie style on the inside, the outside was the series. Extra's on the box where okay, they basiclly featured a bunch of Music Videos..what I wanted to see was the American version of the OP, and ending song (the only thing about the american version that I liked where those two things..) and I would give the story, a 5/5. Also, an age rating of 13+ What else can I say..If you're considering buyign it, go ahead, definatly worth the money!
katherine_jean
Level: 3
Reviews: 11
Experience: 11716
 
100% (2) found this review useful
05 Aug 2004 22:21:01
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  Saw 0 pixelation throughout the entire set. No skipping at all either. Perfect.

Audio:
  No problems with the audio.

Subtitle:
  No problems with the audio.

Comment:
  I loved this set. Not among my top 10 favs but very glad I have it. The music is great. Now what I don't understand is people who absolutely HATE the dub. Yes, the japanese audio is better. No, the dub will not make you hate this set unless you are extremely picky. The only really bad voice actor (imo) is Dilandau. However, his voice is almost as annoying in japanese. If you are a dub-lover don't be scared away from this set by the other reviewers like I was at first. It's definitely worth picking up.
Cidien
Level: 3
Reviews: 16
Experience: 10763
 
100% (3) found this review useful
07 Jun 2004 23:32:18
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  The video in this set is fine, not really any pixelation or movement lines in action scenes. No skipping and all the colour is fine.

Audio:
  I have to agree that the english track is god awful, please PLEASE watch this in Japanese because the english voice acting is so bad it will make you hate the series. The soundtrack I think is great and all the sounds and voices are right on key and at the right volume, although in the english track all of the background music and sound effects are at a lower volume than on the Japanese track, but this is something that seems to almost always happen on english releases.

Subtitle:
  I have to agree that the english track is god awful, please PLEASE watch this in Japanese because the english voice acting is so bad it will make you hate the series. The soundtrack I think is great and all the sounds and voices are right on key and at the right volume, although in the english track all of the background music and sound effects are at a lower volume than on the Japanese track, but this is something that seems to almost always happen on english releases.

Comment:
  Overall a pretty good series, a little bit girly for me here and there but overall I think its worth any anime fans time, would recommend to most people unless your put off by the girlyness.
Ryujin
Level: 2
Reviews: 6
Experience: 5500
 
100% (3) found this review useful
26 Mar 2004 23:05:15
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  I was dissapointed at first. Video looked pale, and out dated. But when I found out it was made it 96, I completely understood. It's over eight years old now, so I got to give the video the benefit of the doubt. There was pixelation that I noticed during action scenes, but other than that, I had no problems.

Audio:
  Excellent sound track! I liked everything about it except for the repetitiveness of the songs. Then it got a little old. By the way, the English track sucks. Disregard it. Please...You'll thank me later, especially if you actually listen to it. It's God awful.

Subtitle:
  Excellent sound track! I liked everything about it except for the repetitiveness of the songs. Then it got a little old. By the way, the English track sucks. Disregard it. Please...You'll thank me later, especially if you actually listen to it. It's God awful.

UberTai
Level: 4
Reviews: 12
Experience: 19795
 
100% (3) found this review useful
21 Jan 2004 05:31:10
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  The video was a dissapointment at first. The video was dark, but this is an older anime. There is pixelation in the high action sequences. I felt that the video got better after the first disc, but I also could have just been getting used to it. Other than that everything ran fine, no glitches or other such problems. Just an FX rip you could compare with Bebop or Trigun. I have seen better video.

Audio:
  Great. I listened to the Japanese track mostly, but compared the English audio a bit. They both are fine, no timing or sync issues

Subtitle:
  Great. I listened to the Japanese track mostly, but compared the English audio a bit. They both are fine, no timing or sync issues

Comment:
  This is a good set and a surprisingly good anime. It took me a few episodes to really get into it, but once I did it was really cool. This set has music videos, textless opening/closing, cut scenes from the Escaflowne video game, and I think that is about it.
rarnom
Level: 4
Reviews: 15
Experience: 17974
 
100% (2) found this review useful
20 Nov 2003 23:04:47
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  The video was perfect in every way some very very slight pixelation in a few episodes.

Audio:
  Perfect in every way, but the English dub has a rather cheesy flavor to it.

Subtitle:
  Perfect in every way, but the English dub has a rather cheesy flavor to it.

Comment:
  This is a great and very entertaining series, kind of light hearted but fun to watch. Highly Suggested!
EngrishMajor
Level: 10
Reviews: 49
Experience: 191556
 
100% (1) found this review useful
05 Oct 2003 19:23:45
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  The video was an R1 rip, but there is still some bad rainbowing, as well as the video overall looking dull. I wouldn't be surprised if this was on the R1, it sure looked like it. The video is about the same as the MI set (not their perfect edition) but this has all previews, openings, and endings on it.

Audio:
  All of them there, all of them nice. This is the only series which has an english dub that is as good as the original's. I love Hitomi's english voice.

Subtitle:
  All of them there, all of them nice. This is the only series which has an english dub that is as good as the original's. I love Hitomi's english voice.

Comment:
  <b>Packaging:</b> Initially, I hated the packaging for this series. But NOW, FX is including a slip case over the one pictures, which is the same picture but with the blue background and the english logo. This looks about 60 times better then what it did before. Annoyingly, this set is only the TV series, yet ALL of the picture on the inside of the set are from the movie. It could've been handled better. Neither of the back's (the set itself, or the slip case) have a summary or anything, just screenshots. All the discs use their crappy english-logo wannabe thing instead of the nice english logo. But it's forgivable. <b>Menus:</b> R1 rip, with the whole tarot card thing. All the menus are there, and so are the extras. The Escaflowne playstation footage was very cool, and just screams "make me into the TV series sequel!!!". Content:</b> Escaflowne TV is one of the classics that includes everything for girls and boys. This is one of the best shows I've seen, and I'm happy beyond belief with this set. I reccomend it to anyone. It's soundtrack is really really nice and fits the mood well, and with not a single dropped subtitle, this set makes one of my top 10's. I reccomend everyone gives it a shot. These DVDs sure live up to the "Perfect Collection" line.
Mysterious God
Level: 8
Reviews: 48
Experience: 117632
 
100% (3) found this review useful
07 Aug 2003 20:44:45
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  DVD ripped video, no problems that I could see. Excellent quality.

Audio:
  Both Japanese and English Dolby Digital 2.0 mixes are ripped flawlessly. Everything sounds perfect.

Subtitle:
  Both Japanese and English Dolby Digital 2.0 mixes are ripped flawlessly. Everything sounds perfect.

Comment:
  If you already own the movie, this is the Escaflowne TV box set to buy without a doubt. Don't settle for less.
SurferX
Level: 3
Reviews: 10
Experience: 9226
 
100% (2) found this review useful
06 Jun 2003 04:35:24
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  Excellent video. There is slight pixelation here and there, but unless you're looking for it it's hardly noticeable (on my standard TV setup anyway). Aside from that, the video is quite gorgeous.

Audio:
  I can't see (or in this case, hear) any reason why I shouldn't give this a perfect 5. Flawless audio, with both japanese and english dub tracks. Be warned however, that Dilandau's voice on the english dub will make you want to stab kittens and maim puppies. I'd recommend sticking to the original japanese track.

Subtitle:
  I can't see (or in this case, hear) any reason why I shouldn't give this a perfect 5. Flawless audio, with both japanese and english dub tracks. Be warned however, that Dilandau's voice on the english dub will make you want to stab kittens and maim puppies. I'd recommend sticking to the original japanese track.

Comment:
  My particular set came in a gatefold with only three disc holders, so I guess FX has updated from the one-holder-fits-both four disc gatefold. If you get the TV only version, you will not be able to keep the movie version in the same gatefold (not that I'd want to, seeing as I have the 3-disc ultimate version of the Escaflowne movie in it's own little box ^_^) Amusingly enough, the gatefold's enterior art is entirely from the Escaflowne movie. Go figure. This release includes extras from the R1s, including textless opening/endings, a video from a live concert at the Escaflowne movie screening, and footage specially made for the Escaflowne PSX game. This is a great series, good for just about any kind of anime fan. You get schoolgirls, magical otherworlds, mecha, love stories, swordfighting, catwomen, bishounen, and crazy plot twists all rolled into one tight little package. It's got something for everyone. Watch it. Love it. This FX set is as good as you're going to get it too, unless you want to fork out a couple hundred bucks for the R1s.
mcon9z9
Level: 5
Reviews: 20
Experience: 37633
 
100% (3) found this review useful
27 Feb 2003 00:49:20
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  It's your standard FX quality video. Either you can deal with it, or you can't. I can, and my score reflects that. Nothing else really to note.

Audio:
  No problems noticed on Japanese track. I didn't bother to check the dub.

Subtitle:
  No problems noticed on Japanese track. I didn't bother to check the dub.

Comment:
  Chapter breaks at intro, part A, part B, credits, and next episode preview. Extra's from R1's included also. Great series. Highly recommended. 5/5
FLEABttn
Level: 4
Reviews: 28
Experience: 24862
 
100% (1) found this review useful
26 Feb 2003 20:57:11
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  The video on this set is simply awesome. There's the smallest amount of macroblocking and sometimes some scenes are slightly darker than there R1 counterpart. I'm not sure if this is because of FX's penchant for re-enconding stuff, but I digress. This is a stunning looking rip.

Audio:
  Simply superb. All the R1 audio tracks are present and everything sounds just spiffy. Couldn't ask for better audio really. You have to hear it for yourself.

Subtitle:
  Simply superb. All the R1 audio tracks are present and everything sounds just spiffy. Couldn't ask for better audio really. You have to hear it for yourself.

Comment:
  One of the best anime sagas of recent times gets the top notch R1 rip treatment by FX. If you can't afford the official R1 set (like me), don't feel bad about buying this set as it is very simply one of the best HK sets available to date. If you haven't seen any Escaflowne before, don't deprive yourself of one of the best anime's of all time. You know you want it =o).
Duragon
Level: 7
Reviews: 34
Experience: 86228
 
100% (1) found this review useful
23 Jan 2003 20:06:42
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.7 out of 0
Video:
  This is almost perfect video. There is still some barely visible pixelation issues in this set. I watched this set on an HD TV. Keep in mind that its barely visible (pixelation) which means if you don't have a high definition TV, chances are you won't see it.

Audio:
  The sound was very nice. (Clear and Loud) There are no worries in this department

Subtitle:
  The sound was very nice. (Clear and Loud) There are no worries in this department

Comment:
  My review is based on viewing the entire set (Japanese Audio and English Subtitles) This is the best fx set that has come out thus far, very nice, hope they can get even better with there releases too.
megajo56
Level: 3
Reviews: 18
Experience: 11725
 
100% (1) found this review useful
21 Jan 2003 21:21:24
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  Perfect video quality - RC1 sourced. Great colors and absolutely no pixellation. All openings, endings and previews are on the DVD's.

Audio:
  No problems here, too. Sounded very good to me.

Subtitle:
  No problems here, too. Sounded very good to me.

Comment:
  Perfect RC1 rip from fx - absolutely worth the money. I think I don't need to say much about the show - it's a real classic. Great story, very interesting characters and one of the best anmie soundtracks of all time. Buy it!
Tooya
Level: 2
Reviews: 14
Experience: 6269
 
100% (1) found this review useful
11 Sep 2002 21:12:57
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Well, I have to say this is one of FX's best releases. It comes in a gatefold with an extra slot which you can put FX's Escaflowne movie in. I think I'd buy the set that comes with the movie in it already though, because you get a price break :). Anyhow, for anyone who likes Escaflowne, this is the set to get. The quality of the video in FX releases has been impoving with each new set they put out, and this set is wonderful. It's a n R1 rip, so the subtitles all make sense, the audio has no problems, and the video is as good as it gets for HK. So I gave it 5/5/5. I'll upload some frame captures, so check the "screenshots" section, too.
Bob_McBob
Level: 4
Reviews: 5
Experience: 25148
 
100% (1) found this review useful
30 Aug 2002 20:06:50
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Audio: 5/5 Video: 5/5 Subs: 5/5 Not much else to say except the FX set comes with 3 DVDs, however the packaging has room for 4 DVD's to put your Escaflowne Movie in. A little odd, but who cares.
Disciple7
Level: 2
Reviews: 21
Experience: 8095
 
100% (1) found this review useful
25 Aug 2002 08:36:01
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  FX has done it again... Video - 5/5 didn't see any pixelization problem ( but i haven't finish watching all the eps) Audio - 5/5 (Jap/Eng : both sounds great) Sub - 5/5 (subs are in yellow letters. R1 full rip) Escaflowne is GREAT series and i bet most of you know that. If you dont, BUY IT NOW.
tDk
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 253
 
100% (1) found this review useful
   
© 2005 Import-Anime.com