Review List Search View Cart
-03 Feb 2011 15:53:05
Zenki Saga Part 4
-10 Jun 2010 00:38:57
Rizelmine Boxset
-11 Jun 2009 01:46:49
Tenchi - The Movie Collecti...
-11 Apr 2009 00:46:33
Key - The Metal Idol Perfec...
-20 Dec 2008 00:34:43
El-Hazard - The Magnificent...
-03 Dec 2008 20:21:50
El Hazard - The Magnificent...
-28 Sep 2008 20:41:24
Samurai Spirits
-13 Jun 2008 17:30:47
Inuyasha Perfect Box 1-3 Li...
-16 May 2008 03:54:59
Cyborg 009 TV Series Part 1
-28 Apr 2008 02:36:39
Manie-Manie: Labyrinth Tale...
StoreForumAbout Us Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022
Currently ~ Users Online
 

Reviews for Dragonball Z Part 1 (8 disc set)
Video: Rating of 2.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 3.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 3.3 out of 0
Video:
  Im going to be honest, the quality on this is BAD, roughly 6 hours of content smashed onto a dvd5. From what ive heard this used to be an 8 disc set, but MAC has recompressed it on 6. This is just far, far to much content consitering the disc ratio. The resolution has also been downsized so they could smash this pixelated mess onto dvd's.

Audio:
  If you click "play" on the main menu, it will play the edited english episodes with no subs or audio options. If you go to chapter select, and select "japanese with english subtitles" it will load a seperate set of uncut episodes ripped from MI's set. This means MAC put DOUBLE the content standard for a dvd9 onto a DVD5!!!! Die MAC!!! I hate you!!!

Subtitle:
  If you click "play" on the main menu, it will play the edited english episodes with no subs or audio options. If you go to chapter select, and select "japanese with english subtitles" it will load a seperate set of uncut episodes ripped from MI's set. This means MAC put DOUBLE the content standard for a dvd9 onto a DVD5!!!! Die MAC!!! I hate you!!!

Comment:
  I cant say I ever tried the 8 disc original, but this 6 disc version completely sucks, avoid it at all costs unless you enjoy watching a crappy pixelated mess.
EngrishMajor
Level: 10
Reviews: 49
Experience: 191556
 
This review has not been rated yet.
16 Sep 2005 07:32:49
Video: Rating of 2.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 3.5 out of 0
Video:
  The video took a MAJOR hit and pixelation is extremely common throughout the set and it?s quite noticeable the worst on my laptop. On my TV it looks bad but its watchable MAC truly screwed things up when they used DVD-5s. Also has a Japanese language version IDK how they did that since the R1s were dub only and cut.

Audio:
  The audio is fine and the dub is about average and the Japanese track [IDK how they added one].

Subtitle:
  The audio is fine and the dub is about average and the Japanese track [IDK how they added one].

Comment:
  MACs DVD-5 Stunt really damaged this set and it?s on 6 discs not 8 now. Not much else to say these are older episodes so that may have made a small impact but MACs DVD-5 crap, defiantly took a heavy toll on this set.
Puppet MasterX
Level: 11
Reviews: 54
Experience: 271352
 
This review has not been rated yet.
27 Mar 2003 18:13:55
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 3.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Because this was taken from the Region 1 set this is a English dub only set for these first 54 episodes of Dragon Ball Z. Still, this is a very good set to own if you like the dub. The episodes are crammed onto the DVDs but the video does not suffer at all. And the price can't be beat. If you bought the Region 1 set in stores, that would cost twice as much.
kitano
Level: 3
Reviews: 42
Experience: 10908
 
This review has not been rated yet.
24 Aug 2002 02:42:33
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  The video is near perfection, except when the lights start to flash really quickly, and the audio is top notch. The 2nd half of Vol. 6 on my set was a bad copy so I had to buy that one volume seperately, but hey it was only one so I ended up paying about $85 opposed to hundreds. Happy, you bet I am! P.S. GO VEGETA!! edited by yuffie on 23 Aug 2002 7:43 pm
yuffie
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 296
 
100% (1) found this review useful
23 Aug 2002 02:01:48
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 3.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  The DBZ epic has to one of the most amazing series ever. You have an elite cast of the Z fighters which contain alot of distinct characters, each one you obtain a feeling for when there character is developed in the story, my fav is Vegeta. This set includes the arrival of Raditz (cool ass character...too bad he didn't last that long) all the way to The fight with the ginyu force(speaking of unique characters). The video is top notch and the audio is great. The Dvd's may be bare bones(no options[menu])but you don't need anything else for in this collection you get the full episodes, what else do you need, just sit back and enjoy.
gary_tippett
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 526
 
This review has not been rated yet.
13 Jul 2002 03:05:12
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  First things first, DUB only set, its the R1 Cut release... no chinese subtitles either.... the openinings and endings are scattered around, not between every episode but here and there (not sure yet if there is a pattern; like if they only done 1 opening 1 ending per R1 DVD that they squized in onto the DVD) Another important thing: DVD has no menus what's so ever... pop the DVD in and it starts playing... not really a problem, a reason to learn how to use Bootmark feature on your DVD player ;) Overall, Great Set, finally DBZ is getting to be more affortable, no need to buy 80 or so R1s that will soon make up the whole series.
parn
Level: 4
Reviews: 3
Experience: 22678
 
100% (1) found this review useful
   
© 2005 Import-Anime.com