Disc rot?
I've heard of something called "disc rot" that plagues some DVDs, and reportedly some import anime DVDs. I've been buying import anime for a few years now with few problems (and in those rare instances, usually just get a replacement disc), but I've encountered one this weekend that makes me worry.

One of my oldest sets is SAILOR MOON S from FX (white gatefold packaging). I've had it for about four years, and we've watched it several times in the past with no problems. However, we popped it in this weekend and one of the discs won't play at all, and another disc boots but stutters badly. There's not a scratch to be found -- they simply won't play now, when they've played in the past. I tried it on two different players with the same result.

Obviously the whole set needs replaced.

So my question is -- is this a common occurance? Has anyone else had this problem? If so, should I be worried about the rest of my import DVDs? I'm really afraid that the money I saved buying import will be wasted, as I'll have to re-buy my collection in a few years anyway.

Anyone?
Hey, there. Yes, I've encountered this before. It was with a DVD I bought in 2000. After a year, one section of the video stopped working. Basically, whenever I played up to that point, the video would freeze for a minute or two and then skip to the next chapter! It's horrendous!

In terms of frequency of occurance, here's some info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disk_rot

In my own DVD's, I'll be honest and say I'm not 100% sure as to whether or not disk rot is common. It's only happened to me once, but then again, I haven't checked my other DVDs.

I hope my post helped somewhat. Smile
Please visit my web site: Archangel's Perch
Personal disc rot is hard to gauge. The disc may have suffered slight damage and that's why it's not working. They can be fickle.