R1 or HK?
While looking at the pictures posted on "Pictures of your anime collection" I noticed those collections were made up mostly of R1's.
Because this is a site dedicated to HK sets and because I see many people here saying they really enjoy HK sets I was a bit surprised. I expected people's collections to be filled with HK sets but that didn't happen.

What I'd like to know is what everybody thinks about R1 and HK sets. Which do you prefer and why?

About 4 months ago I couldn't conceive of buying HK sets mainly because I didn't yet know of ripped sets and had had some bad experiences. But then I found this website and it completely changed my mind. I'm a student so I don't work and most of my money is spent on manga (about $120 a month) which leaves me with little money for anime. That's why HK sets that are R1 rips are perfect for me, they have good subtitles, good presentation and good quality at low prices whereas R1's are much more expensive. Instead of spending $30 on 4 episodes I spend the same amount on 26.
For me, I'll go for the HK sets if there is a perfect collection available. It doesn't really bother me if there's pixelation now and then, as long as it doesn't really interfere with the anime story. I'm okay with fansubs too as long as I can understand what's going on. When I was in college, I didn't have much cash for anime either so I'd definately buy HK. Hmmm, that's not really different from my situation now.. only difference is that I've graduated and am unemployed Rolleyes

Oh ya, I've recently gotten into mangas... have you found any great (cheap) places to get them? Best one I've seen is http://www.alldirect.com - like $6.15 per manga, and it says they're new. As long as you have an ISBN, they'll show up in the database search - their title search doesn't work that well. I haven't bought any from them yet but I'm planning to. Let me know if you have good webstores too.

~Ohhh, so close to my 50th post.. I just want an avatar Sad