Review List Search View Cart
-03 Feb 2011 09:53:05
Zenki Saga Part 4
-09 Jun 2010 19:38:57
Rizelmine Boxset
-10 Jun 2009 20:46:49
Tenchi - The Movie Colle...
-10 Apr 2009 19:46:33
Key - The Metal Idol Per...
-19 Dec 2008 18:34:43
El-Hazard - The Magnific...
-03 Dec 2008 14:21:50
El Hazard - The Magnific...
-28 Sep 2008 15:41:24
Samurai Spirits
-13 Jun 2008 12:30:47
Inuyasha Perfect Box 1-3...
-15 May 2008 22:54:59
Cyborg 009 TV Series Part 1
-27 Apr 2008 21:36:39
Manie-Manie: Labyrinth T...
StoreForumAbout Us Friday, February 21, 2020
Join | Username: Password:
Currently 10 Users Online
 

Reviews for Boys Be 11 Dec 2006 18:27:52
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.5 out of 0
Video:
  Video is about as good as it's gonna get for a dvd-obviously a dvd rip-as it's on 4 dvds-no compression.

Audio:
  Very good-basic stereo-no distortion or anything at all that I could detect.

Subtitle:
  A little wonky here and there-but very serviceable.

Comment:
  I recently read a few volumes of the manga and wanted to see how closely the anime followed it-so I dug this out of my pile and rewatched it after 2 years-very good although the art style of the anime and manga differs greatly. Great series.


edited by Iria Zeiram on 23 Feb 2007 23:41:46
Iria Zeiram
Level: 5
Reviews: 77
Experience: 37,036
 
This review has not been rated yet.
23 Jul 2003 18:42:13
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 3.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.5 out of 0
Video:
  Looks great. Direct R3 rip. No downsampling. No problems noted, and no logos of any kind (just the way it should be).

Audio:
  Sounded really nice. Simple, yet clear.

Subtitle:
  Disc's 1,2, and 4 had "meh" subs, even for an Odex release. For the most part, they made sense, however, the subs had improper syntax. I somehow doubt that these are the Odex subs. 3.5/5

Disc 3 was a great deal better. This is the quality of subs I expect from Odex. 4.5/5

Comment:
  A very nice drama. Reccomended.
FLEABttn
Level: 4
Reviews: 28
Experience: 24,862
 
This review has not been rated yet.
13 Sep 2002 16:34:26
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 3.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  Video: 5/5 Crisp and pretty.

The show's animation and character drawing quality dip a little in a few episodes in the middle of the series (in one episode, the close-ups of Niita mader her look like she was on steroids), but overall it has a pleasant look.

Audio: 5/5 Sounded perfect.

English Subs:
Discs 1,2,4
3.5/5 Very decent, simple and understandable with all the correct names, but translation can be a bit Engrishy. Also lacks consistent capitalization for the first words of new sentences.

Disc 3
5/5 Fansub quality. Almost perfect, except for a couple of minor grammar errors. Noticeably better than the other discs. Curiously, this was the only Disc that also had an Odex screen + Pioneer screen at the beginning. Was this the only true direct Odex rip, I wonder?

The Show: One of those "coming of age" shows focusing on 3 teenage guys and 3 girls in the same school. There's fan-service and attractive character designs as well. It's told mostly from one of the guys' point of view. A little predictable concerning how the relationships unfold, but the direction and writing of the series is very good. Definitely enjoyable.

Overall: 4/5 A decent buy for an decent show.
edited by btzillaguy on 13 Sep 2002 2:35 pm
btzillaguy
Level: 6
Reviews: 59
Experience: 52,942
 
This review has not been rated yet.
24 Aug 2002 23:26:43
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  4:3. Perfect.

Audio:
  Perfect Stereo.

Subtitle:
  Subtitles are almost perfect. I think that they tried to make their own script for the first DVD (It's not bad but sometimes really funny. Mostly grammar errors). From the second DVD it looks like fansub. Third disk is really ripped from the oryginal Pioneer release. And has the best sub.

Comment:
  Very good. No annoying logos. Third disk is ripped from the official release and includes Trailers of the Boys Be, Tenchi in Love 2 and something I don't remember...
MikeGold from dvdsubs.com
Level: 1
Reviews:
Experience: 0
 
This review has not been rated yet.
30 Jul 2002 18:13:26
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.8 out of 0
Video:
  Video is wonderful. Probably a DVD rip.

Audio:
  No audio problems.

Subtitle:
  Great subs. Names are correct and disc 3 is actually an odex rip so the subs are actually perfect!

Comment:
  I loved this show. One of my personal Favorites. Its drama, so if your expecting action look for another title.
Ryan Mallory from dvdsubs.com
Level: 1
Reviews:
Experience: 0
 
This review has not been rated yet.
26 Jun 2002 20:52:59
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Video 5/5

DVD rip nuff said, disc3 was a direct copy from Odex with Malay subs and extras but only disc3.

Sound 5/5

No problems at all.

Subs 4/5

Pretty decent.

"depressed" is the only word that I can think of after watching this series, definately a very emotional anime but too heart wrenching for my taste. I wouldn't recommend anyone who enjoys light hearted animes watching this b4 their exam LOL.
arcage
Level: 5
Reviews: 22
Experience: 32,916
 
This review has not been rated yet.
16 Jun 2002 12:53:52
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Comment:
  Audio, Video, & Subs are excellent.

Content:
As the series begins the storyline is progressively linear cycling through each of three boys. I would consider this series your typical love story. The interesting difference of this series is that it is done completely from the male perspective, more specifically that of the three friends. Overall a light-hearted anime series, that is a dramatic journey saturated with comedic elements to keep things enjoyable.

I thoroughly enjoyed this anime series specifically the struggling artist Kyoichi and sprinter Chiharu, who have known each other since kindergarten. Highly recommended for those of you looking for a nice love story.
edited by Hanamichi on 16 Jun 2002 12:30 pm
Hanamichi
Level: 5
Reviews: 88
Experience: 44,777
 
This review has not been rated yet.
18 Mar 2002 18:15:34
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Comment:
  Video: It´s not an old show and they used a dvd source for sure, great video. 5/5 (no problems at all)

Audio: A 2ch japanese track, no problems here, but nothing special. 4/5

Subtitles: To make this easy... it´s an odex rip, this means that the subtitles are really great. Even disc 3 is a 100% Odex rip (so you get the odex menus, also malay subtitles and some extras -anime trailers-). 4/5
Blakaman
Level: 2
Reviews: 12
Experience: 4,655
 
This review has not been rated yet.
   
© 2005 Import-Anime.com

This page created in 0.0140 seconds : GZIP compression enabled : 39 query's : 607,296 bytes memory usage