Review List Search View Cart
-03 Feb 2011 10:53:05
Zenki Saga Part 4
-09 Jun 2010 20:38:57
Rizelmine Boxset
-10 Jun 2009 21:46:49
Tenchi - The Movie Colle...
-10 Apr 2009 20:46:33
Key - The Metal Idol Per...
-19 Dec 2008 19:34:43
El-Hazard - The Magnific...
-03 Dec 2008 15:21:50
El Hazard - The Magnific...
-28 Sep 2008 16:41:24
Samurai Spirits
-13 Jun 2008 13:30:47
Inuyasha Perfect Box 1-3...
-15 May 2008 23:54:59
Cyborg 009 TV Series Part 1
-27 Apr 2008 22:36:39
Manie-Manie: Labyrinth T...
StoreForumAbout Us Monday, October 14, 2019
Join | Username: Password:
Currently 5 Users Online
 

Reviews for Ranma Season 1 and 2 20 Sep 2003 20:28:09
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  Fortunately the R1 set this is vicariously ripped from doesn't seem to have made any changes to the original video source. So everything looks as it should and it's pretty good considering it's age. Occasionally there is some pixellation in fast-action scenes but it isn't enough to spoil your enjoyment.

Audio:
  No noticeable problems at all. There is however an english dub track, which I know some people prefer - but to me it's just a waste of precious bitrate.

Subtitle:
  Excellent throughout. If I was being really picky I'd complain that often the japanese dialogue isn't translated very accurately, I assume to make it sound more 'western'. But it's definitely worth full marks.

Comment:
  All the best episodes of the series in a near-perfect set. And for the price there really is no excuse for not owning this. (unless u already have the FX set I s'pose...)
LikkleBaer
Level: 3
Reviews: 11
Experience: 13,558
 
This review has not been rated yet.
15 Sep 2003 19:17:11
Video: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 5.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 5.0 out of 0
Video:
  The video is flawless, it looks just like the original Viz Video Release. I have not noticed any slowdow or pixalation on any disc.

Audio:
  The audio on this seems to be in perfect stereo, I didn't have to adjust the volume at all for this like I do some DVDs.

Subtitle:
  The subtitles are very legable for me, they are crisp and easy to see. As for grammer and spelling I really couldn't tell you there, because mines proably worse :-P.

Comment:
  This Box Set is a FX Rip, which in turn is a R1 rip. The box art is fantastic, since it's my first anime HKDVD I don't know how it is compared to others but I think it looks great. Both the opening and the ending occour before and after every episode respectivly. I've watched this on an RCA model RC5215P DVD player thus far, but different players can lead to different results.
pugmagician
Level: 3
Reviews: 4
Experience: 12,167
 
This review has not been rated yet.
21 May 2003 13:58:05
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  I have no real problems with the quality of video that's presented here. Ripped from the R1 Viz releases, the video is mostly sharp and retains it's integrity practically throughout. There's only a little bit of grain that I could see, but then again, PowerDVD tends to bring out the imperfections of just about any DVD. On my 20 inch TV everything seemed pretty dandy, except when there's a lot going on, such as high-speed action scenes, magical attacks etc...

Basically (and this is the only real flaw, but it's a biggie) the video macroblocks a whole lot during the action scenes of this set. One of the worst offenders is when the 'Dojo Destroyer' is fighting with Ranma and is hurling loads of wood and stuff about. Quite simply the video can't maintain it's integrity at all and it looks like a blocky jumbled mess. Now, that's the very worst it ever gets in the set, but there are some other minor occurances of this happening.

It's a bit of shame really because everything else about the video is fine. There are no aliasing issues as such, everything is quite sharp and there's no real colour saturation. Ultimately this is good video, but that one flaw let's it down a bit.


Audio:
  I haven't got any real beef with the audio on this disc at all. It all sounds crisp and clear through my NEW (ahem, sorry) speakers that are attached to my PC. Best of all, as the previous reviewer said, you get that awesome dub that Viz chose to bestow upon their release. This is quite simply the best dub i've heard in quite a while, even though I only saw the first four or so episodes with the dub option turned on. However, even though I watched the show subbed, I will certainly be rewatching it with the dub track on.

Seriously though, there are no real audio problems with this set. All the voices sounded real clear and easy to understand on both tracks and all the sound effects and music came across really well too.

Pretty good stuff.

Subtitle:
  I know that in the past some HK companies who have ripped stuff from R1 titles have managed to screw up the subititles that were already in place. Thankfully, that isn't the case here. The subs are as close to perfect as you're going to get. The subs themselves are grammatically and literally correct with literally only one or two errors seen across the whole set. The subs are also presented in a nice big yellow, sharp font which makes them both easy to read and okay on the eyes.

Awesome subs. Why can't more R1 rips have subs like this?

Comment:
  Ranma is one of those series which I swore I wouldn't ever watch because I thought that it wasn't my kind of thing and that I really wouldn't like it at all. Boy, was I wrong. Trust me, if you're not familiar with, or unsure about Rumiko Takahashi's works before this, watch this because it WILL make a convert out of you!

I for one, will be collecting as much Ranma as I can!

One of the better HK sets i've seen for quite a while. Pick it up without delay! :)
Duragon
Level: 7
Reviews: 34
Experience: 86,228
 
100% (1) found this review useful
03 Jan 2003 05:27:28
Video: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.2 out of 0
Video:
  Pretty much a direct rip of the Viz sets. Considering the age of this show (1989+), it doesn't look too bad. The animation is decent for the time period (compared to latter seasons). However, what bothered me most was the pixellation during action scenes. It's not awful, but it is very noticeable.

Audio:
  Good TV mix. You get the English dub (which is one of the best anime dubs in America) and the original Japanse track. Both sound pretty good, but the English track is louder.

Subtitle:
  Finally, no Engrish. The English subtitles (no Chinese subtitles here) are 98% perfect. A few typos and they can be a tad slow, but not to the point where you have to rewind. If you've been watching subtitled anime for a while, they shouldn't bother you whatsoever anyway. Some complain about Viz's translation, but I only speak very little Japanese. At least it's not Engrish and full of grammatical errors.

Comment:
  The first two seasons of Ranma 1/2 are the best. They actually re-titled the seasons for the Viz version. The first season is just called Ranma Nibun No Ichi (1/2) and the 2nd season+ is called Ranma Nibun No Ichi Nettouhen. But, whatever. No big deal. And sometimes the episode titles can be a tad localized to fit American culture. But anyway, this is a good set for Ranma fans who don't want to dish out $100+ per season for the DVD box sets. The 3rd season and so on aren't as good as these two. Mostly due to lack of serious storylines or worn-out plot devices. And I actually enjoy the English dub and Japanese version equally.
superpchan
Level: 3
Reviews: 10
Experience: 8,800
 
This review has not been rated yet.
28 Dec 2002 13:40:38
Video: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Audio: Rating of 4.5 out of 0 Subtitles: Rating of 4.0 out of 0 Overall: Rating of 4.3 out of 0
Video:
  Some small pixelation noticable during very fast action sequences

Audio:
  The audio is crisp and clean on my stereo

Subtitle:
  Subtitling is not too bad, lags behind the voices occasionally, and the odd misspelled word.

Comment:
  Ranma 1/2 has been one of my favourite anime series for quite a while. This set replaces my Viz vhs tapes, which were starting to show signs of wear and tear. Although the english voice actors appear to be different, they still sound acceptable, although I found the Viz actors put more emotion into their roles. A definate buy for Ranma fans!!!
maxwelledison
Level: 1
Reviews: 1
Experience: 452
 
This review has not been rated yet.
   
© 2005 Import-Anime.com

This page created in 0.0164 seconds : GZIP compression enabled : 32 query's : 530,200 bytes memory usage