Import Anime Forums

Full Version: Anime 101: Good/Bad Anime Studio Names
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi I'm new to all this anime stuff. I'd really like to buy some anime sets, but I'm having a hard time choosing which studio to go with since some titles have versions produced by different studios. Does anybody have any recommendations as to which studio provides good quality anime productions and which studios I should stay away from? English subtitle quality is very important. I also noticed a lot of people throwing the terms "R1" and "region" around, can somebody explain this to me in english?

Thanks!!
R1: regional coding for USA/Canada or USA and Canada Releases
R0: No region coding.

Different parts of the world are classified by different regions.
http://www.animeondvd.com/reviews/index.php

If you have a R2, R3, R4 etc dvd player, most likely you won't be able to watch R1 DVDs on those machines, unless your machine is region free ------->meaning able to play dvds from all over the world.

No HK anime companies provide you with 100% perfect collection. Read the reviews next to the movies listed, or the review section. The more stars, the better.

Most ppl prefer FX since the shows are ripped from R1 sources, meaning same audio/picture/subtitles as the R1s.

However, nothing is perfect. The picture quality suffers due to compression etc. So don't expect everything to be 100% identical to the R1s.

Hope you understand this genre of English.
some good sets to buy would be Cowboy Bebop, Hellsing, Rahxephon, Berserk, Trigun, Mahoromatic, FLCL, etc, etc.