Import Anime Forums

Full Version: That's Realistic
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
For the next-generation of games... I say screw graphics... there are more important aspects. One thing I never thought of before was how realistic a game can be. That makes it pretty enjoyable. For instance...

I was playing Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader (I got it the day it came out with my Gamecube and I've been playing it on and off since (2 and 1/2 years), replay value is high)... and I noticed things I haven't noticed before. In the Razor Rendezvous mission (where you take down a Star Destroyer), I gunned down three cannons on one side of the ship... After you destroy it, it crashes and the next mission deals with the crashed ship. So as I am playing I was thinking of how those destroyed cannons will be back again (because it's a seperate mission, even though it's the same ship), but to my surprise those three cannons where still destroyed!

That was amazing to me, because it added some realism to it. And it made the game that much more fun.

If more games carried over past events to play a part in future points in the game we would have impressive games. This is a point to look at for game developers.
That Razor Randesvous mission is so fun!
I agree though...graphics are as good as they need to be nowadays. Just make awesome games that are long.
Continuity (I think that this is the aspect of realism that you appreciated) certainly does go a long way into making a game more realistic.

It's funny that such little things can impress us and make a difference to how much we enjoy a game. It's perhaps one of the fews aspects of realism that I truly appreciate and want to see more of in games.
Quote:Originally posted by Prophet Hero