Import Anime Forums

Full Version: This is awesome
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Okay...I am not a newbie to anime but only since yesterday when a man at Best Buy referred me to this out of the way store where I live did I discover you can buy these imported huge box sets for next to nothing as it normally would cost like I have been buying them...Then I did research and found this site! And realized they sell these box sets even cheaper here (21 or so vs 50 at that store) So I am still slightly wondering how it is so cheap compared to the normal 150 or whatever it would cost to normally have all those episodes....Not that is really matters of course, just curious...
Because they are rips of other dvds or straight from tv(sometimes). HK meaning Hong Kong. They don't have laws over there against ripping stuff so they can mass produce stuff for cheap. Lots of times it's an American version (IE: Perfect Rip).
These sets are imported from HongKong. They are not R1s, like the ones sold in Best Buy/Fry's etc. Anyway, those stores rip you off on R1s. For instance, Half.com retail price for Gasaraki Box Set is $99.95 (or sth like that), Fry's sells it for $139.99. Witch Hunter Robin Limited Edition Box Set + Vol. 1, retail price, $49.98, Fry's sells it for $59.99.

These box sets from HK are normally ripped from the R1s anyway. Their picture quality, sound/subtitles, are generally similar to R1s, if not the same. Just read the reviews on those sets and if you like what you read, buy those sets by all means. Import animes from HK need not pay licensing/patent fees, hence they are much cheaper.

This place is generally for people who do not want to fork out hundreds/thousands of dollars buying R1s and those who want to try out the series first before deciding to spend loads of money buying sth which they've never seen before on R1s.